Facebook Twitter
0

Award winning ales, brewed on the slopes of the Mendip Hills

Drunk Dry at the Beer Fest 

.Drunk Dry at the Beer Fest..and we raised £2,650 for charity

Wow - What a weekend! This year’s brewery beer festival over the weekend 17th – 19th June was an absolute humdinger. Thanks to all who came and helped make it such a great event.

This year’s was the most successful event yet with around 1,500 people visiting over the weekend to sample our range of 45 award-winning real ales.  And, boy, did you do some serious sampling.  We were serving over 200 pints an hour all weekend and you drank well over 4,000 pints between you.  And yet you were all so well behaved. Thanks for that.

Beer of the festival was our very own Gorge Best.  To be honest we don’t really have strict criteria for judging this, but it was the first beer to sell a full firkin and we sold more pints of it than anything else, so, er, well done us!

The bands were all brilliant, we thought, and by all the whooping, cheering and dancing we’d guess you all loved them too. So massive thanks to The Singletones, The Fred Bloggs Band, The Tin Box Boys (and girl), The Tonemasters, The Fat Marrow Band and Rock Dog for entertaining us over the weekend. Hopefully we’ll see some of them again next year.

We would also like to thank the festival’s sponsors, who collectively helped us to raise £2,650 for charity. See below for a full list of who they are and what they’re all about.  They are all good people so put some business their way if you can.  They’re also all very good drinkers so don’t invite them round for drinks if you want to have any left at the end of it!

The money raised is to be split between three good causes -  we’ll be refurbishing communal areas at St. Michael’s Cheshire Home in Axbridge, providing new equipment for Weare Community Pre-school and we will also make a donation to the British Heart Foundation.

So that’s it for another year. We’ve tidied everything away, caught up on some sleep and are back to being brewers again.  Give us a few more months to fully recover and we’ll start thinking about doing it all again next year. It’ll run from June 15th – 17th - Put it in your diary now.


ps. I’ll try and get some photo’s up soon, but if you have any good ones you would like to share either send them to john@cheddarales.co.uk or upload it to our Facebook page.

 

Barrel Sponsors


2Js Travel    01934 713714    www.2jstravel.com
Arien Signs    01934 744656    www.ariensigns.co.uk
Axe Valley Vets    01934 712229    www.vetssomerset.co.uk
Badgworth Organ Builders    01934 741777    
Bairds Malt    01376 513566    www.bairds-malt.co.uk
Balliihoo - Homebrew & Winemaking    01934 742182      www.balliihoo.co.uk
Bath Arms, Cheddar   01934 742425    www.batharmshotel.co.uk
Brightworks - Product Design & Development    01934 743770    www.brightworks.co.uk
Bucklegrove Holiday Park   01749 870261    www.bucklegrove.co.uk
Cheddar Caves & Gorge    01934 742343    www.visitcheddar.co.uk
Cheddar Garden Centre    01934 745200    www.parkgardencentres.co.uk
Cheddar Sign Sevices    01934 742883    www.cheddarsigns.co.uk
Cheddar Tool Hire    01934 311442    
CRS Building Supplies Ltd    01934 744455    www.crsbuildingsupplies.co.uk
Fernhill Farm    07903 584695    www.fernhill-farm.co.uk
George Inn, Wedmore    01934 712124    www.thegeorgewedmore.co.uk
Gillam & Chivers - Building Contractors   01934 743644    www.gillamandchivers.com
Greaves Brewster LLP - Patent Attorneys   01934 745 880    www.greavesbrewster.co.uk
Helen Bardle Accountants    01934 744333    www.helenbardle.co.uk
Holly House  Tea Rooms  07919 118187    
Jon Thorners Farm Shop   01749 830138    www.jonthorners.co.uk
JTS Snacks & Sundries  01934 744951    www.jts-snacks.co.uk
Kings Head, Wells    01749 672141    www.kingsheadwells.co.uk
Muntons Malt   01449 618300    www.muntons.com
New Inn, Cross    01934 732455    
New Inn, Wedmore    01934 712 099    
Nyland Hill Farm Shop    01934 744802    www.nylandhillfarmshop.co.uk
Oakhouse Hotel    01934 732444    www.theoakhousehotel.com
Orchard Pig Cider   01458 851222    www.orchardpig.co.uk
Pisces Fishmongers, Wedmore    01934 744880    
Radford's Tile Showroom    01934 744814    www.radfordstilingservices.co.uk
Robinson & Brice Building Contractors    01934 740209    
Saxons Estate Agents    01934 745414    www.saxons.gb.com
Tax Assist Accountants    01934 743123    www.taxassist.co.uk
Thatchers Cider    01934 822862    www.thatcherscider.co.uk
The Gorge Outdoors    01934 742688    www.thegorgeoutdoors.co.uk
The Mendip Bottle Wine Merchants    01934 710724    www.mendipbottle.co.uk
The Roxy Cinema, Axbridge    01934 733221     www.axbridgefilmsociety.com
Tuckers Fish & Chips   01934 741212    
W.C.Maunders - Building Supplies  01934 742590    www.wcmaunders.co.uk
Webglu - Web & Multimedia Design Services   01934 813487    www.webglu.co.uk
Wells Cathedral Stone Masons    01934 743544    www.stone-mason.co.uk
West Country Ales    01934 742435    www.westcountryales.co.uk
Westwood Interiors    01934 742171    www.westwoodinteriors.co.uk
Woodbury Insurance Brokers    01934 742550